http://www.ras.ru/en/sciencestructure.aspx?print=1
© 2018 Российская академия наук

Structure of the Russian Academy of Sciences

The Russian Academy of Sciences is the supreme scientific institution of the Russian Federation and the leading center of fundamental research in natural and social sciences in Russia.

Objectives, status and structure of the Academy were being changed during almost three centuries of its existence.

As consistent with historically formed status and tasks, the Academy is shaped on scientific-branch and territorial basis and includes 13 departments (by science subject), 3 regional branches, and 15 regional scientific centers.

The Academy is closely linked with the whole system of scientific research and higher education in Russia. Scientific councils, committees and commissions organized in accordance with the procedure determined by the RAS Presidium are attached to the Academy.

The task of scientific councils (commissions) on most important problems of scientific research consists first of all in analysis of research progress in corresponding scientific subjects and directions, in participation in coordination of scientific research carried out by institutions and organizations of various departments.

Scientific councils are scientific and consultation bodies that are comprised of leading scientists of the Academy of Science, branch academies, higher educational institutions officers, representatives of ministries, administrations and organizations engaged in solution of corresponding problem. Organization of scientific sessions and conferences and participation in publishing activities play an important role in methods of scientific councils work. Due to participation of scientists representing various branches of science and industry in scientific councils’ work, they facilitate basic research achievements, popularization, practical application of research and development..

As a rule, scientific councils on the most important problems of scientific research are attached to the Academy’s departments. Some scientific councils which cover range of problems of several RAS departments are attached to the RAS Presidium.

The following scientific councils on the most important problems of scientific research are attached to the RAS Presidium:

In order to solve major problems that require integrated efforts of several authorities, Interdepartmental councils are established by joint decisions of the Academy and the relevant departments. Among them:

Besides, functional councils are attached to the Presidium. Among them:

For the Academy participation in international scientific organizations, national committees are established at the RAS Presidium and at the RAS departments.

The following committees are attached to the Presidium:

The Russian Academy of Sciences continues to maintain contact with scientific societies and associations. First scientific societies were founded as far back as XIX century. For example, Mineralogical Society was founded in 1817, Russian Geographical Society - in 1845, All-Russian Paleontological Society and I.P. Pavlov’s Russian Physiological Society – in 1916. Scientific societies and associations unite professional scientists, regardless of their place of work.

Societies have branches in different regions of the country thus facilitating scientific and cultural development of Russian regional scientific centers.

Societies perform considerable work towards development of the most important branches of science, coordination of scientific research and engaging of scientists and practitioners into solution of basic and applied problems. Scientific societies and associations contribute greatly to popularization of latest scientific and technical achievements, produce videos and cinemas, publish magazines, collections, works, and help with scientific and methodical assistance to teaching of specific subjects in higher and secondary educational institutions. Societies play significant role in development of international affairs of Russian scientists.

At present the Russian Academy of Sciences maintains close links with 26 scientific societies and 7 associations. Among them:

Besides, the Academy cooperates closely with:

http://ras.ru/sciencestructure.aspx?print=1
© 2017 Российская академия наук

Структура Российской академии наук

Российская академия наук - высшее научное учреждение Российской Федерации, ведущий центр фундаментальных исследований в области естественных и общественных наук в стране.

На протяжении почти трех столетий существования Академии наук менялись ее задачи, статус и структура. 

В соответствии с исторически сложившимся статусом и задачами Академия построена по научно-отраслевому и территориальному принципу и включает 13 отделений РАН (по областям науки) и 3 региональных отделения РАН, а также 15 региональных научных центров РАН.

Академия наук многими нитями связана со всей системой научных исследований и высшего образования страны. При Академии состоят научные советы, комитеты, комиссии, организуемые в порядке, устанавливаемом Президиумом РАН.

В задачу научных советов (комиссий) по важнейшим проблемам научных исследований входит, прежде всего, анализ состояния исследований по соответствующим областям и направлениям науки, участие в координации научных исследований, проводимых учреждениями и организациями различного ведомственного подчинения. В состав научных советов, представляющих собой научно-консультационные органы, работающие на общественных началах, входят ведущие ученые Академии наук, отраслевых академий, сотрудники высших учебных заведений, представители министерств, ведомств, организаций, участвующих в решении соответствующей проблемы. Среди форм работы научных советов важное место занимают организация научных сессий и конференций, участие в издательской деятельности. Благодаря участию в работе советов по проблемам ученых различных секторов науки и производства, научные советы способствуют пропаганде достижений фундаментальной науки и продвижению результатов исследований и разработок в практику.

Научные советы по важнейшим проблемам научных исследований состоят, как правило, при отделениях Академии. Некоторая часть научных советов, охватывающих проблематику нескольких отделений РАН, состоят при Президиуме РАН.

При Президиуме РАН состоят следующие научные советы по важнейшим проблемам научных исследований:

Для решения крупных проблем, требующих комплексных усилий нескольких ведомств, совместными решениями Академии и соответствующих ведомств созданы Межведомственные советы. Среди них:

Кроме того, при Президиуме состоят советы функционального характера. Среди них:

Для участия Академии в деятельности международных научных организаций в качестве рабочих органов при Президиуме РАН и при отделениях РАН созданы национальные комитеты.

При Президиуме РАН состоят:

Российская академия наук продолжает поддерживать связи с научными обществами и ассоциациями. Первые научные общества были основаны еще в XIX веке. Например, Минералогическое общество создано в 1817 г., Русское географическое общество - в 1845 г., Всероссийское палеонтологическое общество и Российское физиологическое общество им. И.П. Павлова - в 1916 г. Научные общества и ассоциации объединяют профессиональных научных работников независимо от их места работы.

Общества имеют свои отделения в различных регионах страны, содействуя научному и культурному развитию научных центров в регионах России.

Общества ведут большую работу по развитию важнейших отраслей науки, координации научных исследований, а также по привлечению ученых и практиков к решению фундаментальных и прикладных задач. Научными обществами и ассоциациями много делается для популяризации и пропаганды знаний о новейших достижениях науки и техники, создаются видео- и кинофильмы, издаются журналы, тематические сборники, труды, оказывается научная и методическая помощь в постановке преподавания конкретных областей знаний в высшей и средней школе. Общества играют важную роль в развитии международных связей российских ученых.

В настоящее время Российская академия наук осуществляет тесные связи с 26 научными обществами и 7 ассоциациями. Среди них:

Академия также тесно взаимодействует с: