about archive

The personal archives of Academician Sergey Ivanovich Vavilov (1891-1951) are in the custody of Archives of RAS. Personal archives of S. I. Vavilov (Fund 596) represent 5 inventories containing 1032 files on 13875 sheets of archive documents.

The information resource “Vavilov’ s archives” has been developed in Department of Insurance Documentary Fund of Archives of RAS and represents a database describing one of the sections of users fund on microfiches of Archives of RAS – personal archives of Sergey Ivanovich Vavilov. The supplement has been developed for navigation and search of the materials for specialists concerned. Such fields as “file number”, “name of file”, “material type”, and “dates of document issue” serve as a guide to a variety of documents and assist in finding sections of interest and ordering copies of documents from fund keepers.

Currently, the archive of Academician S.I. Vavilov has been completely  digitized. All documents amounting to 21,460 files of 2.76 GB are available for users of the RAS portal.

The work on digitizing of the archives has been continuing and the resource will be supplemented. The work on creation of the information resource “Vavilov’s archive” has been developed in the Department of Insurance Documentary Fund of the RAS Archives together with the Institute of Problems of Information Science of the RAS.


Sergei Ivanovich Vavilov

Sergei Ivanovich Vavilov is one of the most prominent Soviet scientists. He is deservedly regarded as one of the founders of the Soviet physics. But his important role in the development of the national science extends further. He combined the talents of an outstanding physicist-optician, remarkable organizer of the national science, a convinced philosopher-materialist, historian and a popularizer of science, a great state and public figure. He was not only an outstanding scientist whose discoveries made a great contribution to the science, but he was a person of great managerial abilities able to administer large scientific bodies engaged in solving complex problems of the present.
Especially should be marked his contribution to the education and training of scientific specialists in the country. His many years’ arduous efforts resulted in the foundation of a large scientific school of Soviet physicians working in the field of physical optics and luminescence.

Due to S.I. Vavilov’s classical investigations the doctrine of a special kind of optical radiation – luminescence became an independent section of science. Except for its numerous practical applications the luminescence is a powerful instrument for solving a cardinal problem of the modern science- the study of properties and structure of substance.

S.I. Vavilov’s indefatigable and fruitful scientific and organizational activity should be especially mentioned. In 1932, after his election Academician, Sergei Ivanovich Vavilov was appointed director of the State Optical Institute (SOI) and headed the Institute during all subsequent years. S.I. Vavilov was an organizer and a founder of P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute of the USSR AS, which under his guidance became the leading center of the studies in the field of physics in our country.

As early as in the prewar years S.I. Vavilov initiated the work in the field of nuclear physics. Of great importance was his role in organization the studies of the stratosphere and the outer atmosphere medium. Those studies forwent modern investigations of cosmic space.

In 1945 S.I. Vavilov was elected President of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR and remained at that post of honor and responsibility till the last days of his life. A rapid upsurge in the development of culture and science in post-war period was closely connected with a feverish and versatile activity of President of the USSR Academy of Sciences, Academician S.I. Vavilov.

S. I. Vavilov’s scientific work was remarkable for the combination of profound theoretical studies with the investigations of practical importance. His distinguished scientific achievements were marked by four Stalin’s prizes (two of them after his death).

Sergei Ivanovich Vavilov passed away early at the peak of his creative work. But his scientific achievements were too significant and his services to the motherland were too great that his name by right went down in the history of Soviet and world science.

Basic dates of S.I. Vavilov’s life and activity:

  • Sergei Ivanovich Vavilov was born on March 12 (24) at Bolshaya Presnya district in Moscow.
  • At the age of seven he entered the private school of sisters Voloshnikovy.
  • In 1901 his father sent him to a Commercial School.
  • In 1909 he graduated from the Moscow Commercial School and entered the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics at the Moscow Imperial University.
  • In 1914 S.I. Vavilov graduated from the Moscow Imperial University.
  • From 1918 till 1929 – an assistant professor at the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics of the Moscow University.
  • 1918-1927 – a lecturer and then a professor at the Moscow Higher Technical School.
  • In 1923 he conducted a fundamental study of polarized properties of luminescence of dyestuff solutions. He derived the formula of the dependence of the degree of luminescence polarization on its excitation by linear polarized and natural light (Vavilov-Levshin’s formula).
  • In 1924 he suggested the method for experimental determination of absolute values of solutions’ luminescence energy output (Vavilov’s method).
  • In 1926 he found the relationship between processes of fluorescence and phosphorescence in liquid and solid media. S.I. Vavilov discovered the first nonlinear optical effect – deviations from the Buger’s law for uranic glass.
  • In 1927 he established the dependence of the dyestuff solution luminescence energy output on the exciting light wavelength (Vavilov’s law).
  • In 1931 S.I. Vavilov was elected Corresponding Member of the USSR Academy of Sciences.
  • In 1932 he was appointed Director of P.I. Lebedev Physical Institute of the USSR AS in Leningrad.
  • In 1932 he was elected Academician of the USSR Academy of Sciences.
  • In 1945 S.I. Vavilov was decorated with the Lenin’s Order for his great services in development of science and technology on the occasion of the 220th jubilee of the USSR Academy of Sciences.
  • He was decorated with the medal “For heroic labor during the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945”.
  • 1945-1951 – President of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR.
  • On January 25, 1951 S.I. Vavilov died. He was buried at the Novo-Devichiye cemetery in Moscow.

 


Subsections

©РАН 2017

ОБ АРХИВЕ

Хранителем личного архива академика Сергея Ивановича Вавилова (1891-1951 г.г.) является Архив РАН. Личный архив С. И. Вавилова (фонд 596) представляет собой 5 описей, содержащих 1032 дела, включающих 13875 листов архивных документов.

Информационный ресурс «Архив Вавилова» разработан в Отделе страхового документального фонда Архива РАН и представляет собой базу данных, описывающую один из разделов фонда пользователей на микрофишах Архива РАН – личный архив Сергея Ивановича Вавилова.

Чтобы обеспечить навигацию и поиск в этом материале для заинтересованных специалистов, разработаны соответствующие приложения. Наличие таких полей в записях, как «номер дела», «название дела», «вид материала», «даты создания документа» позволяет эффективно ориентироваться во всём многообразии документов и осуществлять поиск интересующих разделов, заказывать копии документов у держателя фонда.

В настоящее время архив академика С.И. Вавилова оцифрован полностью. Все документы в количестве 21460 файлов объемом 2.76 Гбайта доступны пользователям портала РАН.

Работы по созданию информационного ресурса «Архив Вавилова» выполнялись в рамках программы Президиума РАН «Информатизация» совместно с Институтом проблем информатики РАН.


Сергей Иванович Вавилов

Имя Сергея Ивановича Вавилова занимает одно из самых почетных мест в ряду выдающихся отечественных ученых. Его вполне заслуженно считают одним из основателей советской физики. Однако этим далеко не исчерпываются роль и значение С.И. Вавилова в развитии отечественной науки. В его лице естественным образом сочетался замечательный физик-оптик, выдающийся организатор отечественной науки, убежденный философ-материалист, историк и замечательный популяризатор науки, крупный государственный и общественный деятель. Он был не только талантливым ученым, обогатившим науку открытиями первостепенной важности, но и замечательным организатором огромных научных коллективов, способных успешно решать сложнейшие научные проблемы современности.
Особенно велики заслуги С.И. Вавилова в области воспитания и подготовки научных кадров страны. Многолетними трудами Сергея Ивановича была создана большая научная школа советских физиков, работающих в области физической оптики и в особенности люминесценции.

Классические исследования С.И. Вавилова превратили в самостоятельный раздел науки учение об особом виде оптического излучения - люминесценции, которая помимо многочисленных практических применений дает в руки исследователей мощное средство, помогающее успешно решать кардинальную проблему современной науки - изучение свойств и строения вещества.

Нельзя не отметить неутомимую и плодотворную научно-организационную деятельность С.И. Вавилова. В 1932 г., после своего избрания академиком, Сергей Иванович возглавил и все последующие годы руководил деятельностью Государственного оптического института (ГОИ). С.И. Вавилов был организатором и создателем Физического института имени П.Н. Лебедева АН СССР (ФИАН), который под его руководством превратился в ведущий центр физических исследований нашей страны.

Еще в предвоенные годы С.И. Вавилов стал инициатором постановки и развития работ в области ядерной физики. Велика роль Сергея Ивановича и в организации исследований стратосферы и внеатмосферной среды. Эти работы были предшественниками современных исследований космического пространства.
В 1945 г. С.И. Вавилов был избран президентом Академии наук Союза ССР и находился на этом почетном и ответственном посту до последнего дня своей жизни. Бурный расцвет науки и культуры в нашей стране, произошедший в послевоенные годы, теснейшим образом связан с кипучей и разносторонней деятельностью президента АН СССР академика С.И. Вавилова.

Для научного творчества С.И. Вавилова наиболее характерной чертой было естественное сочетание глубоких исследований теоретического плана с работами ярко выраженной практической направленности. Его выдающиеся научные достижения были отмечены четырьмя Сталинскими премиями (из них две посмертно).
Сергей Иванович Вавилов ушел из жизни очень рано, в полном расцвете творческих сил. Однако полученные им научные результаты столь значительны, а заслуги перед Родиной столь велики, что его имя по праву навечно вошло в историю отечественной и мировой науки.

Основные даты жизни и деятельности С.И. Вавилова:

  • Сергей Иванович Вавилов родился 12(24) марта 1891 года в Москве на Большой Пресне.
  • В семь лет он был определен в частную начальную школу сестер Волошниковых.
  • В 1901 году отец определил Сергея в Коммерческое училище.
  • В 1909 году окончил Московское коммерческое училище. Поступил на физико-математический факультет Московского Императорского университета.
  • В1914 году окончил физико-математический факультет Московского Императорского университета.
  • С1918 по 1929 год - Приват-доцент физико-математического факультета Московского университета.
  • 1918-1927года - Преподаватель, а затем профессор Московского высшего технического училища.
  • В 1923 году выполнил фундаментальное исследование поляризационных свойств люминесценции растворов красителей. Установил формулу, связывающую степень поляризации люминесценции при возбуждении свечения линейно-поляризованным и естественным светом (формула Вавилова - Лёвшина).
  • В 1924 году предложил метод экспериментального определения абсолютных значений энергетического выхода люминесценции растворов (метод Вавилова).
  • В 1926 году установил соотношение между процессами флуоресценции и фосфоресценции в жидких и твердых средах.
  • Открыл первый нелинейный оптический эффект - отступления от закона Бугера у уранового стекла.
  • В 1927 году установил зависимость энергетического выхода люминесценции растворов красителей от длины волны возбуждающего света (закон Вавилова).
  • В 1931 - Избран членом-корреспондентом Академии наук СССР.
  • В 1932 году назначен директором Физического института им. П.Н. Лебедева АН СССР (ФИАН) в Ленинграде.
  • В 1932 - Избран академиком Академии наук СССР.
  • В 1945 году награжден орденом Ленина за выдающиеся заслуги в развитии науки и техники в связи с 220-летием Академии наук СССР.
  • Награжден медалью "За доблестный труд в Великой Отечественной войне 1941-1945 гг.".
  • 1945-1951 - Президент Академии наук СССР.
  • 25 января 1951 года Сергей Иванович Вавилов скончался. Похоронен в Москве на Ново-Девичьем кладбище.

 


Подразделы

Объявления

©РАН 2017